sewing, knitting and more joining

Over the last week I have actually been doing some knitting and sewing. I know, shocker.

It started with the what not to wear post, after that I decided I really needed to get some clothes made for my daughter.  The dresses I made for her almost 2 years ago are just not cutting it anymore, even for play dresses. 

dressc.jpg     derss.jpg     dressd.jpg     dress.jpg

I pulled out the Ottobre magazines and traced off a pattern and did a sketch.

patterns.jpg      sketch.jpg

I started cutting, I was not paying as close attention as I should have been and mis-cut one of the side panels and didn’t have enough fabric left to re-cut, sigh. So now I have this beautiful pink velour that cannot be made into what I intended it to be made into, sigh.  I did cut out 2 other dress, rethread the serger, and start on the sewing up.  The bulb on my serger blew out so I went to the store to pick up another one. I asked Hubby to watch the kids while I was gone.  When I got home I was putting in the new bulb when I noticed a small pair of scissors sitting in front of the serger and all of the threads had been cut. Honey, thanks for watching the kids, sigh.

I am getting closer to finishing Daughter’s sweater, only one sleeve left to go, and weaving in all those ends.

 stripesweater.jpg

The bottom rolls a bit too much so I am thinking of ripping back and putting in some wide ribbing before the rolled edge, but not till I get the other sleeve done and the ends woven in.

I needed a break from all those bright stripes, so I started some socks.  I finished the first one last night.

 

shellsock.jpg

The foot with the sock is Daughter, the foot without a sock is Son, who wanted his picture taken too.  I have to make him some socks too, he kept saying “my sock, my sock!”  I’ve been a bad mommy, need to make socks for him too.

Oh, and I joined another KAL, two actually: Project Spectrum (not just knitting, tho), and the Aran Weight Victorian Lace Shawl KAL.  I was also going thru the Yahoo!Groups I a lurker member of, I totally forgot to list the Monthly Dishcloth KAL and the Kiri Shawl KAL.  Then there are the Blog based ones I forgot:  Branching Out and Sock it to Me.  Ok, most of these I don’t really consider KALs as they are perpetual and people come and go, more of a knitting support group for the pattern in question.

Leave a Reply

