the plan

I decided to do a little training for the Knitting Winter Olympics 2006. 

I knit up a swatch to get gauge and I came up with a plan for completeing the shawl in time.  If I calculated right the shawl will have approximately 175 rows and I will have 16 days to finsh the shawl, including blocking and drying.  Using Rose-Kim Knits Shawl Percentage Calculator here is my plan:

Feb 10 – Opening Ceremonies – 40 rows
Feb 11 - 2 repeats - 20 rows
Feb 12 - 2 repeats - 20 rows
Feb 13 - 1 repeat - 10 rows
Feb 14 – 1 repeat – 10 rows
Feb 15 – 1 repeat – 10 rows
Feb 16 - 1 repeat – 10 rows
Feb 17 - 1 repeat – 10 rows
Feb 18 - 1 repeat – 10 rows
Feb 19 - 1 repeat – 10 rows
Feb 20 - 1 repeat – 10 rows
Feb 21 - Lace Edging - 8 rows
Feb 22 - Lace Edging - 8 rows
Feb 23 - wash and block
Feb 24 - drying
Feb 25 – drying
Feb 26 - Closing Ceremonies 

Hopefully this will work.  I may knit more on a given day but hopefully I won’t knit less.

4 thoughts on “the plan

  1. I love the shawl calculator – very handy.

    My two Olympic teammates are also knitting their first lace shawls for the olympics – we’ll all have to cheer each other (and ourselves) on!

Leave a Reply

