Olympic gold

laceleafshawl.jpg

Pattern:  Lace Leaf Shawl by Evelyn A. Clark for Fiber Trends
Yarn:  Mountain Colors, Mountain Goat - 55% Mohair 45% Wool – the colorway is Silverbow (now disc), I bought the yarn on clearance last summer.  I have about 60g (about 135yds) remaining of the 4 100g skeins I started with.
Needles:  Clover Bamboo
Started:  Feb 10th
Finished:  cast off – Feb 24th; blocked – Feb 25th
Notes:  I knit 11 repeats of Chart 2.  This was knit for the Knitting Olympics and the Evelyn Clark KAL.  This was my first shawl and first real lace project.   

I do have to say that this project made me feel more confident about my knitting abilities. I mean, if I can knit a lace shawl in less than 16 days, I can do anything.

medal-web-small.jpg

ETA: my Gold Medal

14 thoughts on “Olympic gold

  1. The shawl looks great, but I’ll miss your updates 🙂 Just passing through on Stashalong patrol–have a great week!

  2. Congratulations, Ginger! It is STUNNING. And, yeah, you can do anything! So, what’s up for your next project? Rogue? 🙂

  3. wow it looks great! i actually just purchased this pattern yesterday! i’m planning on knitting it for my brothers fiance as a wedding gift. the wedding is june 2nd, so i think i’ll have plenty of time to complete (if you did it in 16 days, i’m a little less nervouse about my three month alotted knitting period!!)

    anyway, thanks for the inspiring photo! It looks like you knit the large version? Unfortunately, I wont be able to blog about mine because my (soon-to-be) sister in law reads the blog…. and its a surprise. but if i have any questions, maybe i’ll ask you personally??
    great work!!

  4. Very nice! I made one of these in Mountain Colors Bearfoot, Elderberry. I really like the colors in yours. I think I’ll have to get a rail put on my deck so I have a good place to take photos of my larger finished pieces.

  5. Your shawl is gorgeous! I haven’t yet tried to knit large-scale lace, just lace socks. My friends at the LYS are trying desperately to keep me away from the lace weight. They tell me they need to see some finished projects out of me before they’ll let me try that.

    Absolutely beautiful! I stand in awe!

Comments are closed.