why, why, why?

Are men so helpless? (ok, maybe not all men, but it seems like it today)  Our son has a cold, picked it up from Daughter, and we are out of almost all of the necessary cold type meds.  Hubby volunteered to go to the store and pick them up, I said no, that I would do it, but, no, he insisted.  Ok, gave him a list of what we needed, including a few groceries, and sent him on his way. 

The phone rings 10 minutes later and guess who it is.  He can’t find the children’s cough medicine, want to know if the “if under 12 call your Dr.” stuff would be ok.  No.  Well, he doesn’t see any of the kids’ stuff.  Look around, I say, it has to be there.  No, nothing, no kids meds.  sigh.  Says he’s looked everywhere and nothing, so I tell him to get the other things and come home, I will go back out and get it.

He gets back home and I head out.  At the store I go to the aisle and – AT EYE LEVEL – are 2 shelves of children’s cough/cold/allergy medications.  I felt like banging my head against a wall, I did not because there were no solid walls immediately at hand.

I also picked up a hanging basket of flowers for HIS mom.  We’ve been talking about getting her one for Mother’s Day for weeks, but when he was walking into the store, that had 100 baskets hanging in front , did he grab one?  Did he pick up a card for her?  Did the thought even cross his mind?  Oh. Hell. No.

Let me just add that my checkout experience did nothing to redeem the male gender,  I mean really lettuce in the bottom of a cloth grocery bag, then put the 2lb brick of cheese on top, and he had the audacity to get snippy when I said something about it. 

This does not bode well for the rest of the day.

3 thoughts on “why, why, why?

  1. Oh dear… I have to say that one of my favorite things about shopping at the co-op is being asked whether I want help bagging and being able to refuse so that I have only myself to blame… 🙂

  2. I’d say we could trade husbands for a while but mine’s not much better. He wouldn’t have insisted on going. He would have been more than happy to let me do it all. Where would these men be without us?? I’m amazed they’ve made it this far in life.

  3. I read in Psychology Today, that men’s brains are wired for movement. Something could be right in front of their eyes, but if it isn’t moving (and that is most stuff they are looking for, right?) they won’t see it. So the hint was to tell them to move their head back and forth (slowly) and then they will probably see it.

    Whenever my husband is looking for something that I have asked him to get for me (in the house, etc.) and he is telling me “I don’t see it!” I tell him to look again and move his head back and forth (slowly) and he always finds it then.

Leave a Reply

