alive and knitting

Computer troubles kept me away from the computer but I have been knitting.  I have to say, it is amazing what you can get done when you aren’t sitting on your butt in front of the computer, go figure.  I have been sorting thru e-mail, man, I get a lot of junk e-mail, and trying to catch up with Bloglines (good luck).

In the knitting world I have two washrags and a pair of socks on the needles, a felted tote bag that I’m not sure if I am happy with; I need to re-wet it, block it, sew on the handles and line it, then we’ll see.

I have finished a few small projects.

warshrag_bluegreen.jpg

pattern: Ballband Dishcloth from Mason-Dixon Knitting
yarn:  Lily Sugar ‘n Cream both in Hot Green and Summer Splash but alternating color A and B.  I think I prefer the one with the varigation in the background (color A). 

baby_kimono.jpg

pattern:  Heartbreakingly Cute Baby Kimono from Mason-Dixon Knitting
yarn:  Cascade 220
notes:  I really feel the neck needs a bit of refining and reshaping.  On the next one I will do a little fiddleing with the neck.  Instead of ribbon for the ties I used twisted yarn, and I added a tie to the inside to keep the front from drooping.  This is my first project for Dulaan Project 2007.

warshrag_blue_pastel.jpg

pattern:  another Ballband Dishcloth from Mason-Dixon Knitting
yarn:  Lily Sugar ‘n Cream in Cornflower and Violet Veil

mason_dixon_warshrag.jpg

pattern: Mason-Dixon Washcloth from Mason-Dixon Knitting
yarn:  Lion Cotton in Seaspray
notes:  according to the book I’m allowed to say “Day-um, I’m good!” since I knit it while watching TV (The Closer on DVD).  Actually this is a pretty easy cloth to knit just a lot of stitches to keep track of in the beginning, especially with the eyelets, bobbles and all.  Still, not a hard knit just a bit fidley at first.  I knit this up to include in a gift for Daughter’s teacher.  I placed a ‘bath ball’ inside the washcloth and tied it up with a twisted cord.  I think it makes for a cute little package.

teacher_gift.jpg  mason_dixon_warshrag_gathered.jpg

I also did some cleaning and Hubby and I rearranged some furniture.  We sent off two dressers to Goodwill and we’re looking for a good way to get rid of a slipcovered sofa.  It’s a sleeper sofa and it’s just too big for our house, the slipcover needs to be washed and one arm has two small holes, each about the size of a dime, but because of the holes Goodwill said no.  Oh, well.  Right now it’s sitting in the dining room, so the dining table is half in the living room, so much for interior design. 

I did manage to clean the hallway that my laundry closet is in, it seemed to become a dumping area for things with no home. Here is the after photo, click on it if you are brave, and want to see the shocking before photo.

hall_after.jpg

Speaking of laundry . . .

bubba_dryer.jpg

In other news, our house continued to be a plague house for the rest of May and the first weeks of June.  Just when Son was getting better, Daughter got sick, then she seemed to recover and picked up something else.  After talking with her Dr. we’re thinking it may actually be allergies, so we will take her in for testing this summer.  Hopefully we can get this figured out before school starts in the fall.

The garden is continueing to grow and I am fighting the Canadian thistles daily, darn those Canadians. ;-)  I’ve been doing some reading and was able to finish Welcome to Temptation by Jennifer Crusie and Sarah by Marek Halter and I’ve started The Queen’s Fool by Philippa Gregory.  There are a couple other titles on my nightstand too, I can’t seem read only one book at a time, never have really.

Guess that’s enough . . . such an exciting life I have here. lol

2 thoughts on “alive and knitting

  1. Glad you’re back online! Hope things get sorted out for your daughter – untreated allergies are miserable.

    You’ve been knitting some fun things! I do love MDK. So much PRACTICAL stuff in it.

    Heh, your before hallway picture looks like hte corner of my bedroom…

Leave a Reply

