what do I pack

The new MagKnits and Knitty are out, and, for once, I really like patterns in both of them.  With MagKnits this usually isn’t an issue, I can appreciate most of the patterns even if I won’t be knitting them up.  Knitty is sometimes another story.  There are issues where I just go “WTF!” and move on, this is NOT one of those times.

In MagKnits:  I love Alison’s pattern, Wimbledon, so classic.  Ok, I most likely won’t knit it up but I love it, maybe I’ll try and find someone to knit it for.  The girl’s dress is very cute, too.

In Knitty: MUST. KNIT. FETCHING. Daughter wants a pair of Knucks.  RPM is calling some Lorna’s Laces I have in my stash.  Baudelaire is a wonderful pattern, it has modifications for a high instep, woohoo.  Tulip Toes are just adorable.  Crosspatch and Swell will be perfect for The Dulaan Project.  (I’ve already printed out most of these, I am so exited)

I finished another MDBD:

warshrag_purplegreen.jpg

pattern:  Ballband Washcloth Mason-Dixon
yarn:  Lion Cotton Grape and Lily Sugar ‘n Cream Hot Green
cast on/off:  July 1st – July 3rd

I also have been working on the Monthly Dishcloth for July, umm, after 5 days I can clearly see it’s not my style.  I will be ripping it out. (and prolly knitting a MDBD, hehehe)

Last night I started a sweater for Daughter, for this comming fall.  The sweater is a top down sweater from Knitting Pure & Simple in Mission Falls 1824 Wool.

purple_sweater.jpg

Yesterday morning it was decided that the family will be going out of town this weekend.  There is a family gathering in Eastern Washington and Hubby finally realized that we should go. His grandfather, George Carter, has been nominated for the 2006 “Legends” of Washington Wine and all of the family is going to be in Prosser for the Gala.  We won’t be attending the Gala, missed the deadline for the tickets, but will be attending all the family functions.  Hubby’s father was one of eight kids, and all but two, and assorted members of their families, will be in town for the event.

How is this knitting related, you ask.  FOUR hours in the car, each way!  Eight glorious hours of knitting time.  That’s how!  Now, what to bring? 

  • Daughter’s sweater – yes,
  • Branching out – it’s purple, I’m over half way done with it, I should just get it over with, and it qualifies for Amazing Lace – yes
  • Flower Basket Shawl – my Amazing Lace project.  Not. Even. Started.  hmmm . . . ok, but what yarn?  I was planning on knitting this in a fingering weight yarn, I have some Knitpicks sock yarn in some purples, Grandma and Hydrangea.  The difference in the two is that Hydrangea has some deeper purples in it.  I also have some Tahki Yarns dream in a beautiful royal purple.  Oh, and athe KnitPicks Shimmer in grape Hacinth, I would double this one since it is a lace weight yarn.  I think I’ll save the TY dream for a more detailed pattern, one that you want to really showcase the beautiful lace.  FBS is a more substantial patten that I think can stand up to a varigated yarn.  Opinions anyone?
fbs_choices.jpg
L to R: KP Hydrangea, KP Grandma, dream, KP Grape Hyacinth
  • I’ll also take along the Fetching Pattern, If I have enough left over after I finish the neck down sweater I’ll knit it out of that.
  • I have a couple of WIPs I could also take along . . . Lupine Lace socks, Bazaar Socks, Pinwheel blanket, a sweater that needs seaming . . . maybe.

I have all of tomorrow to decide and do laundry and pack and go to Daughter’s Horse Camp ‘graduation’ and and and . . . sigh.

Tristan & Isolde came from Netflix today, I am off to watch, knit, and maybe have a beer.

    ps_july.gif

    MasonDixonKAL.jpg

2 thoughts on “what do I pack

  1. I agree – this was a much better issue of knitty than they have been recently. Maybe a bit heavy on winter accessories for a summer issue, but I printed out 3 patterns.

    Hmm, I think I would leave the FBS at home and take along things you have in progress – it definitely sounds like you have enough of those to keep you busy! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

