no, really

. . . I have been knitting.  After I made my list of projects for August, and in general, I cast on the Einstein Coat for Bug.  When Parkside Wool closed this last spring I bought five skeins of Classic Elite Paintbox, perfect for the Einstein Coat.  Friday night I took it with me to Knit Night at Village Yarn & Tea and as I knit I began to have a bad feeling. 

There wasn’t going to be enought yarn.

No, no, that couldn’t be right, I got gauge, I was following the pattern, no changes.  I was just being paraniod.  I kept knitting over the weekend, finishing the bottom band, the right front, the back, the left front. 

After finishing the body of the coat I had less than one ball plus two small bits of yarn left.

 

I don’t have enough yarn!

I still had the sleeves to finish! and the stitching up! The shop I bought it from is CLOSED FOREVER!

So, I did what any normal person would do and cast-on another project.  While at Knit Night I had picked up IK, the yarn to knit up the Swallowtail Shawl by Evelyn Clark and appropriate pointy needles to do the knitting.  This is my first lace project with actual lace weight yarn, I think I may go blind before it’s finished.

swallowtail shawl

Yesterday, I sat down with the phone book and called around to the local yarn shops.  No.  No.  No.  No.  Hold on, let me check . . .

YES!! Same dye lot and everything! Woohoo!  I drove down to Weaving Works to claim my yarn, and, since I was there and I don’t get down there to often, I picked up a couple of other things.  The Lamb’s Pride is to knit a hat to go with the coat. I also picked up another pair of US8 needles, Brittany Birch, and some solid sock yarn that I fell in love with.

gems pearl

 

3 thoughts on “no, really

  1. Wow, edge of the seat… pulling out your hair stuff. So glad you were able to find more yarn and in the same dye lot too. Bug is going to look smashing in that coat. Love the Louet Gems… can’t find it at my LYS… would love to try it though.

  2. Whew! I’m so glad you were able to find more yarn. Heh, GEMS Pearl is the base yarn for a lot of other yarns – Koigu, CTH, Sundara, etc etc…

Leave a Reply

