love -> frustration -> bitterness

The holiday knitting has begun. Well, sort of.  Last night was Knit Night at Village Yarn & Tea.  I love going to Knit Night, but I don’t aways get to go because of Hubby’s schedule.  I packed up a couple of projects as I really wasn’t sure what I wanted to work on and headed out.

On the way to Knit Night I stopped at Kinko’s and had a spiral binding put on Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch.  I happened upon this idea while blog surfing and I love the results.

One of the projects I brought was a pair of socks that are for the Holiday Gift Knitting.  At the LYS I looked thru the book found the chart for size 11 men’s socks and did a bit of contemplating.  I have one ball of Opal 6ply and I want to knit two socks without running out of yarn.   hmmm.   Toe-up seemed to be the answer, no risk of shortage.  One problem, I’ve never knit a toe up sock before.  I borrowed the shop’s scale and wound the yarn into two equal balls and started knitting the first sock with the Easy Toe (pg42).  I love this toe.  Love it.  Love it.  Love it.  So simple, so basic, so easy.  Love. It.

I do need to rip it out but that does not decrease my love of the toe, it only increases my understanding of it.  I will knit the first portion of it with a needle one size smaller to compensate for my loose purling, then switch to the regular needle for the rest of the sock.

This morning I was reading thru the pattern in SKS and came to these dreaded words:  “Cont until sock reaches anklebone.”  Since this sock is for someone on the east coast, I flip to the wonderful charts in the front of the book.  Hmmm; leg, heel flap, toe, heel to toe, total foot length.  No listing for toe to anklebone, now what. 

Suddenly I realize these are the instructions for the Short Row Heel.  I don’t want to make a Short Row heel.  Great! No problem.  I flip to the Toe-up Flap Heel: “Cont to desired length of foot minus heel measurement. See chart on pages 13-14.”  There is no listing in the charts for heel measurements! 

I started surfing the web.  Googleing.  Everything I find says about the same thing, try on the sock and when it is to “this” point, start the gusset, etc.   This is of absolutely no help to me.  None. At. All. 

I did find another version of the toe-up flap heel that I really like.  It is the one used in two of the patterns in the new Knitty:  Widdershins and Baudelaire.  Course the heel on these is specific to these patterns, not men’s size 11s. 

To say I’ve been a bit frustrated by a simple pair of socks is an understatement.  I can go back to knitting top down and pray for the best but sheesh, it really shouldn’t be that difficult.  It’s just a pair of socks.

I’ll post a quesion on the Socknitters List and see if I can get an answer.

3 thoughts on “love -> frustration -> bitterness

  1. Ginger, can you figure out how many rows the heel is going to take? Then take the length of the finished sock and multiply by your row gauge, subtract the heel rows, and that should give you the place to start your heel. Or… look again at the chart on p. 14 — I wouldn’t be too surprised if the right length turned out to be the “toe to heel” length.

  2. I love the idea of getting the sock book spiral bound! I’m taking my book this week!

    Hope you are able to get your length figured out because that toe is looking good 🙂

  3. Like Julie said, figure out your row gauge and how many rows are in the gusset and heel extension (assuming that you’re doing a toe-up that has a gusset on the foot) and you can backtrack to where you need to start. Judy Gibson’s Generic Toe-Up pattern has guesstimate (Chart 2) as to where to start the gusset increases, but it’s never worked very well for the row gauge I get…

Leave a Reply

