maybe next book tour

I was planning on going to see the Yarn Harlot today at Third Place Books.  Well, life seems to have gotten in the way of my plans.  Bubba was sniffley on Friday and yesterday added a cough.  Yep, he has a cold. 

I called my mom and cancelled, she was going to watch the kids since Hubby has to work today.  She offered to watch them anyway, but I would feel horrible if she caught a cold from Bubba, and if Dad caught it, he would make her life miserable.  Dad is not a good patient.

Here is an exerpt of the conversation I had with Hubby about the situation:

Hubby: “Ok, this may be a stupid question, but couldn’t you take the kids with you?”

Me: blank stare

H: “Well, ya know . . . . ”

M: “Oh, sure.  He’s sick enough that I don’t want my mom to watch him but sure I’ll take him and get everyone there sick.  I mean I’m sure they would all appreciate me bringing my two kids who will complain loudly thru the whole thing so no one around us can hear.  And Bubba will cough and sneeze and sniffle and spread his lovely germs.  Do you really think I want to be the bane of the Seattle knitting community?!”

H: “Umm, nevermind.”

I’m disappointed, but she’s writing another book right now.  So I’ll go and see her on the next book tour.  So, before Hubby went to work I ran out and bought some yarn, ‘cuz yarn makes it all better.  The yarn is two balls of Cascade 220 Superwash for the Holiday Knitting ’06, they will be Quinn.   

On the plus side I did some more Googleing last night after my rant.  I found the Generic Pattern for the “You’re Putting Me On” Socks and there was a chart of when to start the gusset increases.  After finding the pattern I remembered Chris talking about this pattern on her blog, she even has a link to it in her sidebar.  I am back to knitting away on the socks.  Maybe I’ll even finish my Holiday Knitting early this year.  Hahahaha, sure I will!

2 thoughts on “maybe next book tour

  1. Bummer about missing the Harlot!! At least she goes to Seattle regularly – she’s never yet made it here. Next weekend she’ll be about two hours east, so there’s going to be a mass exodus of Twin Cities knitters east…

    Hee hee – I just left basically the same comment on your previous post that you’d already figured out!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

