two WIPs no more

One is the pinwheel blanket.  I ripped it and placed the yarn back into stash.  I like the pattern, but the more I thought about finishing the blanket the more I ask myself why I was making it.  I don’t have a baby, not planning on one in the near, or far, future.  I don’t know anyone right now that is having a baby that I would want to give it to.  The more I thought about it the more I thought the yarn needed to be something else.  So, it will be.

The second is the first of the Holiday Knitting Projects.

pattern: Generic “You’re Putting Me On Socks” w/ easy toe from Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch
yarn: Opal 6-ply
needles:  Clover Bamboo US3 & 4
cast on: Sept 1st   cast off:  Sept 8th
notes: I started the Easy Toe, from Sensational Knitted Socks, using US2 Chiagoo Bamboo DPNs to give it a nice firm fabric.  I bound off using this bind-off, which I read about at brooklyntweed.  The second sock went off with out a hitch.  The first one had FOUR knots in it with chunks taken out of the pattern.  I had to pull out large section of yarn to make the pattern repeat correctly. Not fun at all.  The socks did end up matching, except on the heels and I am not sure what happened there since they match on the foot and on the leg. 

5 thoughts on “two WIPs no more

  1. WooHoo!! Doesn’t it feel good to have something done this early? I don’t know that feeling yet, but hope to soon. The socks look great and you had enough yarn too (even with all the knots…I hate when that happens).

  2. Very pretty socks, Ginger! I admire your perserverance. I’m knitting a pair using Opal Elements and although I cursed the knot and missing segment of yarn, I just kept knitting. I’m nearly at the matching point in the second sock, and it just this very moment occured to me that I can pull out a section of the yarn and thus have matching socks. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. I’m so jealous of your dedication to getting the Christmas knitting done early. That’s why I joined the SAM2 club, but wouldn’t you know that most of what are currently on the needles are destined for the one person who doesn’t need a present — me?

    Congrats on finishing them!

  4. I just had the same thing happen with my first pair of self-striping yarn. The heels didn’t match, and I used the forethought heel in Sensational Knitted Socks. Oh well.

    I like your socks!

Leave a Reply

