e-scent-ial?

I received the new Interweave Knits in the mail yesterday and while skimming through it I came across an article on “Aroma Knitting”. Apparently Skacel is releasing two yarns “infused with the soft scent of lavender” and the article was extolling the wonderful merits of aromatherapy for our knitting.

When is to much just to much? It seems everything is scented these days or over scented. We have plug ins, fans, automated air sprays, scented trash bags, laundry detergent, carpet powders, and upholstery sprays (that are supposed to remove odors but they too have a lingering scent) for our homes. For our bodies there are antiperspirants and deodorants, perfume and cologne, body sprays, “feminine sprays” and scented tampons and menstrual pads. Yeah, the sickly sweet, artificial, floral scent wafting up from our twats nether regions is so much better.

In the last six months I have had three migraines because of heavily scented products, twice from a floral carpet powder I asked my husband not to use and once from a shampoo and conditioner produced by a company that makes all natural products and I, wrongly, figured I would be safe. This doesn’t count the times I have had lesser headaches from other overly scented products. I hate the grocery store, especially the detergent aisle, and there is even a cereal manufacturer planning to add scent to the boxes of their cereal to encourage people to buy. In a year will the cereal aisle be a bombardment to our olfactory system, too.

I am hoping that this will not become a trend with all  the yarn companies.  Knitting is relaxing enough by its self.  I’d hate to think I could no longer walk into my local yarn shop without needing a gasmask and a handful of Advil.

5 thoughts on “e-scent-ial?

  1. I’m right there with you! I think scented yarn is going too far. If someone really wants to knit with lavender-scented yarn, they could seal it in a baggie with a lavender sachet for a few days. I mean, I don’t care if people want to knit with any kind of scented yarn, as long as I don’t have to smell it.

    I was planning to give a linen spray to a friend for Christmas, and just found out that her husband is very sensitive to scents, so that gift is scratched!

    Two things get me more than anything else: having to walk through a smoking section of a restaurant to get to one of two non-smoking booths (surrounded by smoking booths), and people who wear lots of ghastly perfume.

  2. I’m not to hip to the scented knits either. I’m especially not big on floral-scented anything. A lot of the yarn stores in my area are actually quite small–too small for a war among many different scented yarns. I hope this trend doesn’t stick!

  3. My daughter has terrible allergies. When I need to go down the cleaning products aisle my daughter waits at the end for me to come back. But I won’t be buying that new yarn because I can’t stand lavender.

Leave a Reply

