2006: a year in review

Knitting FOs 2006:

  • 22 dishcloths and a bunch of scrubbies
  • 8 pairs of socks
  • 4 hats
  • 4 sweaters (1 baby, 1 vest) 
  • 3 pairs of mittens/mitts
  • 3 lace shawls
  • 1 lace scarf
  • 1 bag – knitting finished, need to sew lining

Not to shabby, if I do say so myself.  Even if you don’t count the dishcloths, I averaged 2 projects a month!

UFOs being carried into 2007:

  • Bug’s sweater – just need to seam and do cuff ribbing
  • Ed’s socks – second sock
  • felted bag – needs to be re-wet and blocked
  • Tomten for Dulaan Project
  • bag – knitting finished, need to sew lining

I think that’s all of the FOs and UFOs. 

Now how about those knitting resolutions for 2006? 

Knit a sweater for me. – ummm, soon, very soon.

Work with a sock pattern until I can get it to fit my wide feet, high instep, and thick ankles. – this year for sure, I’m tired of making socks for everyone else.  Ok, I did make a pair of house socks, for me, but that doesn’t count.

Finish at least one project a month.  Close, very close. I missed November, but I averaged more than 2 a month for the year . . . so I’m gonna cheat and say – DONE.

Not buy more yarn. When I started buying yarn I intended to keep my stash to a specific size, I want it to get back down to that size again. I have enough projects waiting for me I should be able to get quite a bit accomplished before needing to purchase any more yarn. Let’s try for 6 months. - HA! Not even close!  Two local stores closed in March and that was the end of it for me.  I made it two months, maybe I’ll try for three months of no yarn buying through 2007.

Knit a shawl, or many shawls for holiday gifts next year if all goes well.  – Done. Done. Done. Two shawls for gifts this year, plus one for the Knitting Olympics. I love knitting lace.

Knitting resolutions for 2007:

Knit a sweater for me. – Have the yarn, have the pattern.

Work on knitting socks for me. – Have the yarn (see last paragraph in post), need to work on the pattern.

Practice “Yarn Restraint”.  Now, I’m not saying yarn diet, but restraint, all things in moderation.  Also, try to have three months, throughout the year, with no yarn purchases.

Finish my Dulaan Avalanch Yarn knitting.

4 thoughts on “2006: a year in review

  1. It was nice to see you at VYT on New Years. I resolve to try and spend more time knitting with other people, maybe this Saturday?

Leave a Reply

