first FO of the new year

My first FO of the new year is a UFO that has been sitting in my knitting basket since May waiting for me to seam it up and knit the sleeve cuffs. I finally broke down last night and finished it while watching Bride & Prejudice.

Bug in Molly

pattern:  Molly from Junior Knits by Debbie Bliss
yarn:  Mission Falls 1824 Wool
needles:  Clover Bamboo US7&8
cast on:  May 2006  cast off: Jan 2nd
notes:  I liked this pattern over all.  I would knit it again.  I wasn’t thrilled by the huge seam under the arms, because you are seaming the cast-on edge to the cast-off edge.  I made one change to the pattern; instead of picking up the stitches and knitting the ribbing on the arms then seaming, I seamed the side/arms then picked up stitches for the ribbing and knit it in the round.  That way I didn’t have to worry about reversing the seam for the turned back cuff.

Molly - back

I’ve also been working on a sweater for the Dulaan Project from the Avalanch Yarn; Tomten, a wonderful design from Elizabeth Zimmermann.

10 thoughts on “first FO of the new year

  1. I have a copy of Bride and Prejudice on it’s way to me via Netflix! I’m going through a serious Pride & Prejudice stage right now which the hubby is tolerating much better than the Gone With The Wind stage that I went through when I was pregnant with the little man.

    The shrug is so cute! How did you like the pattern?

Leave a Reply

