january knitting

January was a month of small knitting projects, for the most part. 

  • I started off the month by seaming up a shrug that had been sitting in my knitting basket for six months.   
  • 9 hats: 7 for the Dulaan Project, one for Bug and one for Hubby
  • 1 skinny Noro scarf
  • Tomten for the Dulaan Project
  • 11 dishcloths; these are going to be set aside for teacher/bus driver gifts at the end of the school year

I forgot how much fun knitting dishcloths is.  I used several patterns including: Garterlac, the Ball Band Dishcloth from Mason-Dixon, Snowdrops and Lace Leaf from the Monthly Dishcloth KAL and a few 4 Corners Dishcloths from this pattern.  I made a couple of chages to the 4CDC; I didn’t slip the first stitches (it didn’t seem necessary) and I went down to 3 stitches at the corners instead of 5.  The 4CDC is based on a baby blanket designed by Elizabeth Zimmerman and is a lot of fun to knit up.

Although I did make several yarn purchases in January, I did end up knitting up much more than I purchased (by 23 skeins!).  I have to credit a lot of that on the Tomten, garter stitch uses up more yarn than you think.

I have several projects still on the needles:  EZ baby sweater from Knitter’s Almanac . . . umm . . . that can’t be the only thing, but for the life of me I can’t think of what else.

Goals for February:

  • learn to spin on the spinning wheel
  • knit a blue sweater for Dulaan and Project Spectrum
  • knit up a few more dishcloths and scrubbies
  • knit at least one pair of socks
6 thoughts on “january knitting

  1. Your washcloths are so great. That is my thinking, get a few done for gifts. However I have only managed one so far…your inspiring me to do more fast!!!

  2. How nice to see that tidy stack of colorful dishcloths! You’ve reminded me of how fun and easy they are to do, too. Our local Habitat for Humanity chapter likes to get them as part of the housewarming gifts they give their clients. Been awhile since I’ve done any – thanks for the inspiration!!!

  3. Your right – I tried the pattern without slipping the first stitch and it looks even better! I love it when somebody improves on an idea. Thank you so much for that:D

    Cyber hugs, Abigail

Leave a Reply

