spring shearing

I have been knitting, but the kids were home on mid-winter break last week so I didn’t really have time to blog.  Or, maybe, I just didn’t make time would be more accurate.

My parents took the kids for a sleepover on Thursday so I was able to go to the Thursday morning knitting group at VYT.  It was nice to see the gals again, it’s been months since I have been able to attend.  After knitting group I got my nails filled (boy, did they need it) and while wondering what to do after that I drove past the hair stylist’s.  The hair was getting way to long, many days I had been reduced to the twist and clip method of hair styling . . . so chic.  Ended up having 8″ of hair cut off and it’s still down past my chin. 

I drove home, went in the house, realized hubby was going to be working late, kids were with the g’parent and the yarn shop was open late on Thursdays.  Back into the car and back to VYT for some more knitting with a few of my favorite knitters; Amy, Brad and Ellen.  If I start hanging out there any more they are going to put me to work . . . hmm, employee yarn discount. 

While at VYT (all day) I did happen to find one or two things to bring home with me.  First, some Cascade 220 in a bright spring green for a cardigan for Bug.  I’m planning on doing my first steek (eek), an EZ seamless yoke cardigan with some colorwork in spring colors. 

Second, sock yarn, very cute sock yarn.  Do I really need more sock yarn?  Apparently, the answer is:  yes, I do. 

The last thing I brought home is The Yarn Girls Guide to Knits for Older Kids.   I love this book!  I really like the fact that each pattern is shown knit up in “boy colors” and “girl colors”.   Also, following the Yarn Girl tradition, these patterns are knit up at bulky gauges, this means fast knitting folks.  There are many sweaters I want to knit from this book, mostly for my kids but a couple of the patterns would be great for use with the Avalanche Yarn for Dulaan.

Friday I went with the folks and the kiddos to the zoo.  It was nice but I was exhausted by the time we left.  Bubba can be quite a handful, even when the adult child ratio is 3:2.   While surfing blogs I happened across Pat’s blog and saw her yarn inventory.  I had been going through my stash looking for yarn for several patterns in my new book, gee, wouldn’t an inventory be handy. 

I mentioned this idea, of making a yarn inventory, to some of the Saturday morning knitters.  The idea was met with raised eyebrows and wide eyes.  Saturday evening and Sunday morning I sorted and recorded and set up a spreadsheet.  I’m thinking not actually knowing what was hiding in my stash would have been a better idea.  Also, adding up the yardage and converting it to miles was a really bad idea.  Trust me, I know of what I speak.

Iconfirmed that I have to much sock yarn.  I have to many small amounts of yarn, one or two balls of this and that.  I am getting rid of a few things, a friend of mine wanted my Baby Ull for knitting baby things.  I originally bought it for some stranded knitting that I never got around to starting, so it’s hers.  I also matched up some patterns with some of the stash. 

I finished knitting up another Steppe Sweater(pdf) for Dulaan, I’ll post pics as soon as I finish weaving in the last of the ends.  Last night I cast on these socks while watching Texas Chainsaw Massacre: the Beginning.  Now, I like a good slasher movie as much as the next person, but this one was just over the top, so lots of knitting got done.  I finished them this morning.  Nothing like knitting kids socks with dk wt yarn, they just fly off the needles.

pattern: Knitting Pure & Simple Easy Children’s Socks
yarn: Plymouth Encore DK
needles: Clover Bamboo US4
cast on: February 24th  cast off: February 25th 

Now I just need to figure out what to start on next; sweater for me, sweater for one of the kids, socks for me, socks for kids, more Dulaan knitting . . . the possibilities are endless, but I did wind this up today. . .

or here is another view . . .


Blue Moon Fiber Arts
Socks That Rock Heavyweight
Highway 30

3 thoughts on “spring shearing

  1. Thursday sounds like it was a wonderful day! Hmm, that’s a variant of Meilenweit that I haven’t seen yet… I love Meilenweit. 🙂 And gorgeous color on your STR!

    I have a yarn inventory, but haven’t ever converted it to miles… and frankly, I’m more than a little scared to do so……….

Leave a Reply

