where am i?

Oh, that’s right I changed the name of my blog. It’s still in the same place, just a new name. I’ve been using sewcrafty as a screen name for almost 10 years on various message boards, etc., but I was surfing the blog-o-sphere last night and was amazed at how many sewcraftys are out there.

Okay, I’m not sewing as much anymore, so maybe a new name for the blog would be appropriate.

What is the source of inspiration for the name, you ask. My dear friend Jennifer, the woman I blame (yes, blame!) for my sewing and knitting addiction and by way of knitting the whole spinning thing.

When my daughter was very little, a year and a half – maybe two, she suggested I should sew for her.

“Kids clothes are so quick to sew, and they use such small amounts of fabric. Really, you should sew for Bug.”

I already quilted so I had the sewing machine, and cutting paraphernalia, I just needed to pick up a few patterns and some fabric. I made most of Bug’s clothes until she started school.

Two years later: “I’ve been knitting,” she says, “you should knit, it’s so relaxing.” No. Way. Not. Knitting. I still have all this fabric from when you said I should start sewing.

As you all know, I started knitting. I love knitting. Knitting is portable, knitting can be picked up and put down in a way sewing cannot, especially with kids around.

Do you see what a bad influence she is on me?

After starting to knit I met a whole new group of enablers friends. These friends spin. They make beautiful yarn and knit wonderful items from that handspun yarn. “I’m not going there” was my mantra for many months, until, while at Saturday morning knitting, I was talking about how I was not going to go down the spinning path. “Why, not?” they asked.

I explained about the quilting stash, the scrapbooking (did I forget to mention that one?), the sewing stash (I have a serger, an embroidery machine, and enough patterns and fabric to clothe a small third world country), the yarn stash (I have a thing for sock yarn).  I didn’t need a spinning fiber stash, along with the spindles, wheels, niddy noddys, etc, etc, etc, that go along with a new hobby.

This was met with a terse, “That sounds like a personal problem, not a spinning problem.” Gee, you think? I caved and took the spindle class, now I own a wheel.

So, what does all this have to do with the name of my blog? One day while talking to Jennifer I mentioned the “it’s all your fault” thing, to which she replied, “Well, yes, but you forgot to tell me at the beginning of all this that you had a little bit of crazy leaking out.”

5 thoughts on “where am i?

  1. I love the name change and it’s so appropriate. Of course I’m one to talk, I could have sworn it was only last November I was insisting I would never spin, that I had no desire to, yada yada yada. Now look at me. A wheel I don’t know how to use and little bits of fiber crammed into bags here and there.
    And as for the silk, if you’re there on Friday I’ll bring it for you to play with. I have no clue what I’m doing so it is all goofing around at this point. Bring a spindle and we can play.

  2. What a great story and a great blog name!! I don’t think I’m susceptible to the spinning thing – there are carriers/pushers all over the place here and it still does not tempt me.

Leave a Reply

