saddle shoulder sweater

0703ezsweater2

pattern:  Saddle Shoulder Sweater from Knitting Without Tears
yarn:  Mission Falls 1824 Wool – Denim and Putty
Cascade 220 Superwash – Red – for hems
needles:  Clover Bamboo
cast on: March 2nd  cast off: March 11th
notes:  I loved knitting this sweater.  I actually had to reknit the sweater after finishing the arms and getting a couple of inches into the body.  The yarn I had in stash was from before Mission Falls closed and reopened, and I started to panic that I wouldn’t have enough to finish the sweater, with no way of getting another skein in the same dye lot.  If I had been knitting a yoked sweater I could have added color into the yoke with no problem, but it would have looked very strange on the saddle shoulder.  I picked up the putty yarn at a LYS and added some stripes to the body and arms.  I’m glad I did as it would have been very close and I don’t think my heart could have taken it.  Then again if I had knit the body of the sweater a little shorter, I prolly would have been okay, but I like the longer length.  I did have to fudge a bit on the shoulder/neck decreases since I wanted a larger opening for his pun’kin head.  All in all, I would knit another EZ sweater in a second, loved the whole process, even with the ripping and the grafting.

0703ezsweater

DSCF2750

5 thoughts on “saddle shoulder sweater

  1. How many skeins did you use for this sweater? I am trying to work out of my stash of Cascade 220 and I am considering making this sweater – size 4 – for my son. I just took a class from Meg Swanson and she went over this pattern quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

