babies!

Look what’s in my garage right now.

070420brooder

And, look what’s inside.

070420chicks

Three baby chicks!  I blame it all on Chrissy.  Ok, not really, but looking at those cuties oven on her EnviroMom blog got me thinking, and no good can come from that.

Hubby and I had been talking about getting a few chicks to keep Gimpy company and so we would have a few more eggs, I egg a day just isn’t cutting it for a family of four. (yes, Emma, I have your standing order for eggs) Hubby went to the feed store for chicken feed this morning and when he came home he cleaned out the brooder packed us into the car and we drove back to the feed store to get chicks.  So, now we have three little peepers.

38 thoughts on “babies!

  1. Here are my guesses:

    1. Roy Orbison (Roy for short).
    2. Red Hot Rooster (just Red for short).
    3. Wynona Judd (Wy for short)

    Can’t wait to hear the names you picked. Thanks for a little late-night procrastination and Google-use!

  2. Red & Country make me think of Reba. Which then leads me to Dolly for the Buff (blonde?). Then… you know how those ADD brains work… to Kenny Rogers for the silver.

    But then there’s no band. Hmm.
    Little Red Hen is a place. Red Foley… again, no band. I suppose it could be Red Meat, but a) chicken is white meat, and b) you aren’t planning on eating these little sweeties.
    Silver has me stumped. Buff… Bare Naked Ladies is hardly country music. But awfully good.

    I give up.
    Sharon

  3. well i don’t know anything about country music so i lose 🙂 not that i don’t have enough sock yarn as it is! but those little chick a roos are tooooo cute. bet the kiddies are loving them!

  4. They’re so cute! Alas, I don’t know anything about country music… I would’ve guess Winken, Blinken, and Nod. 🙂

  5. They are so cute! I’d guess but their names were already spilled to me on Saturday so that wouldn’t be fair 🙂

    It was fun knitting with you! How are the swatches?

  6. So cute! Here are my guesses:

    Dixie, Garth and Dolly

    Bearing in mind that I do not listen to country music, so these are the only 3 country music singers that I know of. 🙂

  7. I’m guessing, Winona, Shenandoah, and Travis. What fun! I keep trying to talk my hubbo into getting some egg-layers but he keeps reminding me that we live in town.

  8. Those chicks are adorable! I had a friend who used to raise chicks in his art studio. They were so cute, as are yours. Congratulations and good luck with them!

  9. woy just found your blog – love it! your chicks are so very cute! and thier names are perfect – though Im a little partial to reba she is extra cute!!!!

  10. Those are cute chicks. I would have have got two of the names right but been way off on the third *g*
    I’m enjoying reading your blog 🙂

  11. Super, so glad you got gimpy some friends…let me know if ya want some 5 to 6 mos old gals, would be happy to bring you a few Dozen (((((wink)))))

    Cyndi 😛

  12. No clue on the names, so I too am glad of a bit of randomness. The chicks sure are cute! I’m such a softie for baby animals, it’s quite a good thing I usually only get to see them on other folks’ blogs ;*)

  13. I’m planning a hostile takeover of the HOA we’re forced to live under so I can have fresh eggs every day, too. :o) Thanks for the adorable pictures. It has been a long time since I listened to country music, but I’m sure that one of them’s gotta be Wynonna. ;o)

  14. My four footed children suggested Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner….. no wet food for them.

    They’re darling. Someday. Right with the sheep, goats and Llama.

  15. They are so cute. My grandparents had baby chicks often when I was little. I used to love petting them (until they got their feathers lol).

Comments are closed.