why, yes, I have been knitting

. . . and it has been all about the charity knitting (and joining more KALs, I am a sucker fot the KALs).

First, I joined the Charmed Knits KAL and knit these Slytherin hats.

0704charmedknits

All three are knit from the House Hat Pattern at the Charmed Knits KAL blog.  I really enjoyed knitting the 2 beanies, the double decreases are neat and make the hats just a little different from the average beanie.  The beret, I have to say, wasn’t my favorite. It was quick enough to knit, I just wasn’t thrilled the finished product.  This is totally a personal preference, I like a flatter top on a beret.

Which lead to knitting more hats for the Dulaan Project.

0704kidnewehats

0704dulaan_hats

The top five hats are from some skeins of Kid ‘n Ewe from my stash.  The yarn was originally purchased to knit a sweater for my daughter, but I didn’t knit it, and she grew.  Darn kids.  No real pattern just a basic hat.

The bottom two hats were knit from some Brown Sheep Burley Spun, also from stash, using the Avalanche Hat pattern(pdf). The bottom hat is just a variation on the pattern.

Then I joined Norma’s Magic 28 KAL, and knit up some socks for Dulaan.  I see this KAL as an excuse to use up some of my sock yarn stash.  I doubled the yarn and it works perfectly.

Magic 28: pair 1     Magic 28: pair 2
Pairs 1 and 2 were knitted from discontinued Knit Picks sock  yarn I bought a year or so ago Paper Dolls and Daffodil.  I am able to get a pair from one skein (220yds) of yarn.

Magic 28: sock 5      Magic 28: sock 6
Socks 5 and 6 were knitted from Knit Picks Pansy.  The first sock I knit double stranded without matching the colors, the second I did match the colors.  I have another skein and will knit up matching socks from it.

I’ve started keeping a Magic 28 sock by the computer, so I can work on one while surfing blogs, and I keep one in my purse for knitting emergencies.

10 thoughts on “why, yes, I have been knitting

Leave a Reply

