but . . . I . . . um . . . really?

Did you feel the world stop rotating today about 10:30am (pacific time)?  You did?  I’m not surprised.  Want to know what happened?

Here it is.

My dad said he might vote for Obama!

I know, I’m shocked too.  You’re not, oh, I guess I should explain.  My dad is very conservative, but not religious.  He’s a hunter, gun rights advocate, and NRA member.  He is a pull yourself up by the bootstraps kind of guy, he comes from a very poor background but I enjoyed a middle-class upbringing because he did pull himself up.  For the most part he feels if he did it there is no reason anyone else can’t do it, and his political views mirror that.  The last time he voted for a democrat was JFK, so it’s been a while. 

Today Dad came over for a visit and while we were talking about the caucus yesterday he piped up with, “I’m seriously thinking of looking into voting for Obama if McCain gets the nomination.”  Now, coming from my dad, he might as well have said he was going to dance naked under the next full moon (and really, we don’t want that).  After I picked my chin up off the ground we started talking about what was holding him back from voting for Obama, and it turns out Dad wanted to know about his stand on gun control.  I hopped onto the internet and printed out a page on Supporting the Rights and Traditions of Sportsmen (pdf), Dad was pleased with statement “He will protect the rights of hunters and other law-abiding Americans to purchase, own, transport, and use guns for the purposes of hunting and target shooting.” 

By the time he left I think he was pretty much convinced.  He did make it clear that there was no way he would vote for Hillary Clinton, he may dislike McCain enough to look at voting for Obama, but I think hell would have to freeze over for him to vote for Hillary. 

3 thoughts on “but . . . I . . . um . . . really?

  1. You know come to think of it I did pause for a moment today right around 10.30am because something seemed a little off. Now if only we could start working on my Dad.

  2. 10:30? That explains a lot. I had been napping quietly, and suddenly found myself doing laundry. Thank goodness! I was worried about myself. Thanks for sharing, G.

Leave a Reply

