blanket for dad

I found out yesterday that my dad will be going in for brain surgery, again, in the next month or so. The last time was almost nine years ago and he swore he wouldn’t do it again even if the growth came back. Apparently he changed his mind when faced with the reality of it.

I have decided to knit him a blanket for after surgery at the hospital and while he’s recovering at home. At first I was thinking a Pi blanket, but that’s just not my dad’s style. I settled on the Moderne Log Cabin (pdf) from Mason-Dixon Knitting, nice size for snuggling under on the couch. I ordered the yarn from Elann, superwash wool, and sat down to work out the color placement. While doing that Emma pointed out how nice the layout for the Moderne Baby Blanket (pdf) was.  More math.  I readjusted the numbers for the yarn I had purchased and so it would end up about the same dimensions as the Modern Log Cabin, so different multipliers for length of the blanket and width . . . oh well, it’s for a good cause.

After playing with the color placement this is what I came up with:

modernelogcabin3

I’m taking opinions until the yarn arrives and I cast on, and I may or may not actully take the poll results into account when I do cast on. I can be fickle that way. Having said that, what do you think?

2 thoughts on “blanket for dad

  1. I was wondering about the superwash from Elann and if it would be nice. Now I’m going to stalk your knitting with it.

    Sending healthy thoughts and good vibes for your dad and you too!

Leave a Reply

