offf '09

I was able to attend the Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival in Canby again this year.  Wow, it was a lot bigger than I remember two years ago.   I forgot to send off my class registration so I didn’t take any classes this year, but I did still have to be there on Friday since my friend, Emma, had a booth (Dragonfibers)  and about half of her supplies were in the back of my truck.  After the booth setup (and let me say I’m glad there were four of us!) we headed back to our hotel and hit a bar across the street for dinner and, possibly, a bucket of drinks.

Now, with no classes and a festival ground of booths before me, what do you think I did?  Shopping, you say?  Well, heck, you’d be right.  I was a good girl on Saturday, I picked up a basket (I had to have something to carry my purchases)

round basket

and a Taylor/JMM Clever Kate,

then there was lots of browsing and watching the livestock judging.

Sunday was the parking lot fleece sale.  I was so tempted.  I walked through, and may have drooled on a couple of the fleeces, some beautiful CVMs and shetlands.  Sigh.  Oh, and the Gottlands.  Double sigh.  No fleeces for me this year, but that doesn’t mean I went home fiberless.

This is 4oz of 50/50 Merino Silk, from Butternut Woolens.

Tweedmaker

These are from Dicentra Designs, 100% BFL

Forget Me Not

and 80/20 Merino Tussah

Agate

This is one of the mystery batts from Superior Fibers

My creation

Did I need stitch markers?  No, but Betty did, and while she shopped, I browsed.  Found myself buying these beautiful stitch markers with the matching tin, from Miss Purl, how cold I not.

Stitch Markers

I also did some blogger stalking.  Saturday I was doing some innocent browsing when I saw a man who looked a LOT like Franklin Habit, The Panopticon, but it couldn’t be, because he blogs in Chicago, and what would he be doing in Canby, OR.  Well, it finally dawned on me that it WAS actually Franklin, could have been one of his companions saying ‘hey, Franklin’ – no grass growing here.  It took much self restraint to not squee and fawn and gush.

Sunday while Betty and I were watching the booth for Emma, so she and Jen could go shop, Rabbitch stopped by.  This time I did gush a bit, we chatted about her loss of virginity in Portland, alpacas, and car repairs.  Good times.

2 thoughts on “offf '09

  1. Thanks for the info on OFFF. I love that festival! And thanks for blogging again! I know how the months can get away from us but it’s good to see your photos. What sort of camera do you have? I need a good one and yours seems to give good photos. Email me at rebecca at bothtwins dot com, ‘k? I keep forgetting to ask about it when I see you. Rebecca

Leave a Reply

